• Announcement: Lua.org now officially recommends this forum as a meeting place for the Lua community

The game loop (2 Viewers)

Hi all. Hope you're all doing well despite this damn Covid thing.

BTW, inspired by a recent question appeared on the Lua subreddit I just wrote a runnable example/tutorial on how to write a
game loop with GLFW, using the MoonGLFW bindings.

Since the dreaded 'game loop' is something against which people sooner or later bang their heads, I think it deserves a thread.

Any comment is welcome, as well as alternative examples using other technologies/libraries, philosophical discussions or whatever.

(Disclaimer: I am not a game developer, just a tinkerer, so if you are one and you find my example naive, please be forgiving!)

Lua:
-- A game loop example. Shows how GLFW can be used to implement a game loop from which
-- the multiple tasks that make up the game (graphics rendering, physics updates, AI
-- updates, etc) are executed at different rates.

local glfw = require("moonglfw")

-- Create the window where the game will run:
local window = glfw.create_window(320, 240, "Game loop skeleton")

local function update_counter(ups)
-- Returns a function n=f(dt) that, given a variable delta time dt, computes how many
-- updates must be performed in order to have ups updates per second. Any reminder time
-- is accounted for in the subsequent call(s).
   local fixed_dt = 1/ups
   local n, tot_dt, remainder = 0, 0, 0
   return function(dt)
      tot_dt = dt + remainder
      n, remainder = tot_dt//fixed_dt, tot_dt%fixed_dt
      return n
   end
end

-- Create a separate update counter for each game task, specifying the rate at
-- which we want the task to execute:
local n_graphics_updates = update_counter(30) -- render 30 frames per second
local n_physics_updates = update_counter(180) -- update physics 180 times per second
local n_ai_updates = update_counter(60)       -- update AI 60 times per second

local last_t, current_t, dt